News & Features

Image:  08/11/2013 Arnold Wasserman Joins Us as the 2013-14 Nierenberg Chair We are very pleased to announce that Arnold Wasserman has joined the School of Design as the 2013-2014 Nierenberg Chair.Arnold Wasserman is chairman... more
Image:  12/23/2012 Dylan Vitone Awarded Grant for Doha Photo Project We are pleased to announce that School of Design Associate Professor Dylan Vitone has been awarded a Berkman Faculty Development Grant for his Doha... more
Image:  06/19/2012 Designing Tote Bags for Food Bank Clients Sophomore Communication Design students in Kristin Hughes’ Decoding Place class designed tote bags using graphic patterns inspired by nature to raise... more
Image:  03/12/2012 Wayne Chung’s “Make Tools” Help LG Innovate Wayne Chung shows off a smartphone “make tool” used in a research project for LG Electronics, a global electronics and appliance manufacturer. The... more
Image:  12/05/2011 Rape Prevention Messaging Designed by Students, for Students In design, I don’t think there is a better possible outcome than this: a non-profit who gets a much-needed messaging make-over, and students who get... more
Image:  09/26/2011 Eric Anderson inducted as an IDSA Fellow The School of Design is proud to announce that Eric Anderson was inducted as an IDSA Fellow at this year's IDSA International Conference in New... more
Image:  Hanington, Martin Publish New Book: Universal Methods of Design Bruce Hanington, Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, and Bella Martin, 2004 MDes CPID alumna, have published a new book, Universal... more
Image: Caption: Alumni Alum Amanda Ip Wins Dwell/Design Within Reach Contest Alumna Amanda Ip ('07) recently won the Live/Work contest sponsored by Dwell and Design Within Reach, with her Innermix Desk solution. Amanda... more
Image:  Daniel Chow Selected as IDSA Merit Award Winner On March 22, 2012, CMU School of Design hosted its annual IDSA Merit Awards. The award, sponsored by the Industrial Designers Society of America,... more
Image: Caption: Recognition Youngest Members of School of Design Win Microsoft Firenze The School of Design wants to congratulate Harsh Gupta, Nick Zukoski, Max Brown, and Zhuoshi Xie, finalists in Microsoft’s Firenze BXT (Business,... more