Design’s Peter Scupelli Begins Tenure as Nierenberg Chair

Carnegie Mellon University's School of Design is honored to announce that Peter Scupelli has been named as the 2019-2022 Nierenberg Chair. Peter Scupelli is the Founder and Director of the Learning Environments Lab and is currently teaching required undergraduate and graduate-level courses in the School of Design. During his three-year tenure as the Nierenberg Chair, Scupelli plans to focus on sharing the sustainability centered courses that he has developed at CMU with the world as open-source teaching resources.

Bruce Hanington Begins Tenure as Head of the School of Design

On June 1st, Bruce Hanington, Associate Professor and former Director of Graduate Studies at Carnegie Mellon University’s School of Design, began his tenure as the new Head of the School of Design.

Terry Irwin to Receive Honorary Doctorate from Emily Carr University of Art & Design

Terry Irwin, Head of Carnegie Mellon University's School of Design, will recieve an Honorary Doctorate from Emily Carr Univeristy of Art & Design in Vancouver, British Columbia. Along with Irwin, artist Lawrence Paul Yuxwelupton Lets'lo:tseltun will be receiveing an Honorary Doctorate and artist Marianne Nicolson will receive the university's Emily Award, which honors outstanding achievements by ECU alumni.

Arthi Krishnaswami Awarded Patent for RyeCatcher

L. Arthi Krishnaswami, an alumna (MDes '06) and current Distinguished Adjunct of Professional Practice at Carnegie Mellon University's School of Design, was recently awarded a US Patent for "RyeCatcher." Officially founded in 2014, RyeCatcher is a web-based application that supports the whole child—academic, behavior, social, emotional, health and wellness—by bringing schools, parents, students and service providers together around actionable data.


Subscribe to RSS - faculty