Nierenberg Chair

The Nierenberg Chair was established in 1983 through a generous gift from the late Mr. Theodore D. Nierenberg and his wife, Martha. The Chair is one of the most prestigious appointments within design education in the United States, awarded to an outstanding individual who has achieved national or international prominence in design or a design-related field. Originally applied to visiting faculty, the Chair has more recently been awarded to full-time faculty in the School of Design.

Mr. Nierenberg earned a bachelor of science degree in engineering management from the Carnegie Institute of Technology, now the College of Engineering, in 1944, and was one of the founders of Dansk International Designs. He was an emeritus life trustee of the university, and began a notable family legacy at Carnegie Mellon: his son, daughter, and granddaughter all went on to earn their own degrees here, studying architecture, chemistry and German, and mechanical engineering, respectively.

The goal in establishing the Nierenberg Chair was to enhance the vitality of the School of Design for students and faculty alike by encouraging dialogue on important issues in the field, exploration of contemporary forms of design practice, and research that affects future practice and understanding. Selected by committee, the chair is awarded to a faculty member on their rise to tenure, in recognition and support of their teaching and research contributions to the School and the field of design. 

Dr. Peter Scupelli is the current recipient of the Nierenberg Chair, awarded for a three-year term from 2019-2022. Peter has met and surpassed the criteria required for awarding this professorship and we are pleased to recognize his outstanding work in this way. Peter joined the School of Design in 2011, and is now an Associate Professor, chair of the Environments track, and founder and director of the Learning Environments Lab. Peter holds an undergraduate degree in Architecture from the University of Genova, Italy, and a Master of Design in Interaction Design and a PhD in Human Computer Interaction from Carnegie Mellon. 

Peter's new title of Nierenberg Associate Professor of Design will be formally acknowledged and celebrated at a reception to be held in September 2019.

Nierenberg Chairs:

Eindhoven University of Technology
RMIT University
Plot London
Plot London

David Gresham, 2004-2005

Ron Kemnitzer, 2003-2004

Marc Rettig, 2002-2003

Patrick Jordan, 2001-2002

Ken Hiebert, 2001 (spring)

Ken Schory, 1998-1999

Shelley Evenson, 1997-1998

Dennis Doordan, 1997 (spring)

Patricia Moore, 1996-1997

Tony Golsby-Smith, 1995 (fall)

David Smith, 1993-1995

Richard Buchanan, 1991 (fall)